11.02.2017-11.30.2017

De Jonckheere
Old master paintings

PHILIPPE PASTOR
10 monochromes

Within the framework of the Art en Vieille Ville autumn preview, De Jonckheere Gallery is presenting a personal exhibition of the Monegasque artist Philippe Pastor.

'10 Monochromes' highlights a significant series of his work. Born in Monaco in 1961, Philippe Pastor has dedicated his entire body of work to nature and environmental issues, emphasising mankind's responsibility in today's ecological disasters. Even though his works have been presented twice at the Venice Biennale, Philippe Pastor works discretely and alone in the middle of nature, which he contemplates, respects and reveals to us.

In line with the series 'Le Ciel Regarde la Terre' and 'Les Quatre Saisons', using pigments and natural materials that have been shaped by time, Philippe Pastor intensifies his approach with the "Monochromes" series.

"Bleu Monochrome" pays tribute to the sea, an ecological reflection on pollution and the disappearance of the seabed. Pastor works the surface of his sometimes monumental paintings with natural intense blue pigments, creating marine topographies covered in subtle cracks. A reference to drought, seen from the sky, or the earth's crust, these paintings assume a geological dimension. His use of a powerfully intense, natural blue pigment also invites us to explore an emotional aspect. Blue, the artist's favourite colour, is "a hymn to emotion and peace". This use of monochrome canvases can also be found in the 'North Pole' series. The cracked canvases in various shades of white, are true polar maps of spaces that are disappearing because of climate change. A monochrome experience committed to the environment.

Image
PHILIPPE PASTOR (Monaco 1961 - )
Bleu Monochrome, 2014
Mixed medias
152 x 102 cm

02.11.2017-30.11.2017

De Jonckheere
Tableaux de Maîtres

PHILIPPE PASTOR
10 monochromes

Dans le cadre du vernissage d’automne de l’Art en Vieille Ville, la galerie De Jonckheere présente une exposition personnelle de l’artiste monégasque Philippe PASTOR.

« 10 Monochromes » met en lumière une série significative de son travail. Né en 1961 à Monaco, Philippe PASTOR a consacré l’ensemble de son œuvre à la nature et aux questions environnementales, pointant la responsabilité de l’Homme dans les désastres écologiques actuels. S’il fut présenté à deux reprises à la Biennale de Venise, Philippe PASTOR travaille en toute discrétion, isolé au sein d’une nature qu’il contemple, respecte et nous révèle.

Dans la lignée des séries « Le Ciel Regarde la Terre » et « Les Quatre Saisons », travaillées dans la matière, composées d’éléments naturels et façonnées par le temps, Philippe PASTOR radicalise sa démarche avec la série des « Monochromes ».

« Bleu Monochrome » est un hommage à la mer, une réflexion écologique sur la pollution et la disparition des fonds marins. Sur des toiles parfois monumentales, PASTOR travaille la surface avec des pigments naturels d’un bleu intense, créant des topographies marines traversées par de subtiles craquelures. Évocation de sécheresses, vues du ciel ou écorce terrestre, la peinture prend une dimension géologique. L’utilisation de pigment bleu naturel, d’une puissante intensité, permet aussi d’explorer une dimension émotionnelle. Couleur de prédilection de l’artiste, le bleu est « un hymne à l’émotion, à la paix ». Ce traitement monochrome des toiles gagne aussi la série « North Pole ». Les toiles craquelées se déclinent en blanc, véritables cartographies polaires d’espaces en voie de disparition sous l’effet du réchauffement climatique. Une expérience monochrome engagée pour l’environnement.

Image
PHILIPPE PASTOR (Monaco 1961 - )
Bleu Monochrome, 2014
Mixed medias
152 x 102 cm