About us

A well-established cultural association based in Geneva’s Old Town, Art en Vieille-Ville (AVV) brings together fifteen prestigious art and antiquities galleries as well as three renown cultural institutions: the Barbier-Mueller Museum, the Art and History Museum, and the Baur Foundation.

Created in 2007, AVV aims to establish the charming Old Town of Geneva as an important destination for art, by building on the diversity and expertise of its members, and promoting a selection of high quality works.

Towards this aim, AVV organizes two art openings each year, in the spring and autumn and with the participation of all its members. In the presence of world-renowned experts, each gallery unveils its most beautiful and unique works in either thematic or monographic exhibitions that build on their areas of excellence.

Rare art pieces are revealed from domains that are as fascinating as they are varied: classical and near-eastern antiquities can be discovered alongside modern and contemporary art, decorative art, photography, prints, sculptures, Old Master paintings, 20th century furniture, as well as contemporary jewellery designs.

A not-to-be-missed event for art lovers, collectors, art world professionals, and inquiring minds, the AVV vernissages or art openings invite you to discover the Old Town in a convivial atmosphere and through a unique itinerary in the streets of historic Geneva.

A centre for excellence in Geneva’s art world, AVV contributes to creating a dynamic Old Town and positioning the city as a vital and vibrant destination for art in Europe.

A propos

Association culturelle de référence, Art en Vieille-Ville (AVV) regroupe quinze galeries d’art et d’antiquité de prestige (situées en Vieille-Ville de Genève) ainsi que trois institutions culturelles de renom : le Musée Barbier-Mueller, le Musée d’art et d’histoire et la Fondation Baur.

Créée en 2007, AVV est née d’un désir de faire de la pittoresque Vieille-Ville de Genève, un centre d’attraction dans le domaine de l’art en réunissant ses membres pour proposer au public une sélection d’œuvres répertoriées et de haute qualité, à travers la diversité des spécialités de chacun.

Pour ce faire, AVV organise deux vernissages communs exceptionnels chaque printemps et automne, au cours desquels des pièces rares issues de domaines d’activités aussi divers que passionnants sont présentées par des professionnels de renommée internationale.

Chaque galerie dévoile alors ses plus belles œuvres, dans le cadre d’expositions thématiques ou monographiques relatives à sa spécialité : antiquité du monde classique et du Proche-Orient, art moderne ou contemporain, art décoratif, photographie, gravure, sculpture, tableau ancien, mobilier du 20e ou bijou contemporain.

Rendez-vous devenus incontournables pour les amateurs d’art, collectionneurs, professionnels des métiers d’art et curieux, les vernissages communs d’AVV invitent à découvrir une Vieille-Ville plurielle et colorée dans le cadre d’un parcours convivial et inédit dans les rues du centre historique.

Véritable pôle d’excellence dans le domaine de l’art à Genève, AVV contribue au dynamisme de la Vieille–Ville et au positionnement de celle-ci comme un lieu d’art incontournable en Europe.